So Long, Farewell, August Wrap-Up Time

Hey! Sorry for being a bit of a hermit recently; I’ve been vacationing and first-day-of-school-ing and contrary to my original beliefs, it really doesn’t leave a whole lot of time for other things. And by that I mean reading and writing and by extension, blogging.

Another month has gone by, and with it, summer and all its relaxation. I miss it already. Today was my second (official) day back to school, and I think it’s going to be a crazy year. I’ve been thinking it for the past two weeks.

So. Things I did this month. Let’s do this.

Presenting… The Book March of August!

171020181445902175044831371485

  1. A Mango Shaped Space by Wendy Mass // ⭐⭐⭐⭐ // 80%
  2. The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho // ⭐⭐⭐⭐ // 75%
  3. A French Girl in New York by Anna Adams // ⭐⭐⭐ // 70%
  4. Avenged by Amy Tintera // TBD

I didn’t get to read too many books this month. At least, not as many as I wanted to. I kind of got stuck in Avenged and am making a very slow going in finishing it. But I’m including it in the book march because I’ve spent the majority of this month reading this book and I’m almost done, I swear. The strange thing is though, while it’s taking me so long to get through the darn thing, I’ve been enjoying it more than any of the other books I’ve read this month. There’s something about Amy Tintera’s books that I really enjoy. I’d like to say it’s the fast pace but we seem to have some contradicting evidence…

The Haul

So I didn’t include this last month since I literally only bought one book (The Alchemist), which I don’t think is all that exciting. BUT! This month, on the other hand, I took a little trip, and where there is travelling, there is major book buying- because independent bookstores are bomb. So! Let’s get down to business (to defeat the Huns)

  1. Because You Love to Hate MeI am super pumped for this book. I mean, booktubers and YA authors collaborating to create stories about villains? Sounds like a pretty epic time to me.
  2. Lucky in LoveI am already in love with Lucky on Love. One, because it’s Kasie West and where there is Kasie West there is always a delicious contemporary to be followed. Second, the cover is absolutely gorgeous. I think it might be my favourite of hers so far.
  3. When We CollidedI have heard many a great things about When We Collided. I don’t know too much about it, but I do believe it does involve mental illness. Also, I’ve never read an Emory Lord novel before but I feel like she’s one of the Contemporary Greats so it should be fun.
  4. Forever in Loveah, we have reached the end of the trilogy at last. If you don’t know, Forever in Love is the third and final book in the City Love trilogy by Susanne Colisanti. They’re very much summer books, entertaining (although a bit absurd at times) and good if you don’t want to think too much… and you like the drama. I just want to see how it ends.
  5. The Thousandth Floorthere’s been a lot of hype for The Thousandth Floor and I’m at last finally getting around (sort of, i mean, buying the book is one step closer to actually reading it right?). Plus I’ve been craving some more stories set in that New York scene.
  6. Blind Date With a Book / Mystery Contemporary Book – so I’ve never done one of these before, never even really seen them at any of my local bookstores, but I saw a few at Books of Wonder (which gives you a bit of a clue as to where I was) and I kind of just felt compelled to buy one. So of course I went for the contemporary. It’s supposed to be good for fans of Emory Lord and Sarah Dessen and I just bought an Emory Lord book and I’ve read and enjoyed a few of Sarah Dessen’s books so I’m excited.
  7. Kissing Max HoldenI think I just kind of needed this book. I kind of love slightly absurd drama and I think this book might be something along those lines. I mean, that tagline: kissing Max Holden was a terrible idea. I am ready.
  8. A Million JunesThe Love That Split the World was the first book I read this year and I absolutey loved it. It was completely wonderful, great writing, and Beau Wilkes is such swoon-worthy material. So of course I’m insanely excited for A Million Junes, which I have hear nothing but incredible things about. Plus, have you seen eviebookish’s absolutely gorgeous A Million Junes-inspired design?
  9. Seven Days of You as a up-and-coming great Asian drama fanatic, any books (particularly contemporaries) set anywhere in Asia catch my eye. It’s like reading a drama! And generally I love travelling via book. It’s probably the cheapest way to. I think this book might sit somewhere around the Kissing Max Holden-type of area and I’m sure I will enjoy it. Hopefully.
  10. The Night Circusnot-so funny anecdote: I actually saw someone on the subway reading this book only days after I bought it. I almost wanted to asked her how great it was, because from what I’ve heard ever since it came out, it’s a pretty fabulous time. And along with all the contemporary cravings, I’ve also been really wanting to read The Night Circus for some reason. But even the paperback is way too expensive for my taste so when I found it for $8 (American dollars, unfortunately), I was like Must. Buy.
  11. Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff for TeensRachel from Kawaiisweetworld (which is a great baking/diy channel, by the way) recommended this book way back when in one of her Q&A videos and seeing as it’ll probably be a stressful and hectic year, I thought I’d pick up a copy to help me stay focused.
  12. I’d Rather Be ReadingI’ve also been wanting to read a memoir recently(?? Me, who has never had a thirst for non-fiction before), and while this certainly isn’t that, I figure people writing about how much they love books, as well as pretty pictures of books should be a good time.

Wow, thank you so much if you actually read all of that.

Can you tell I’m in a contemporary kick? To be honest, I’m kind of always in the contemporary mood as it is my favourite genre, but summer gives me an excuse to buy all the contemporaries becuase ’tis the season, isn’t it?

Book Boyfriends of the Month

Avenged – Prince Casimir (Cas) Don’t-Remember-His-Last-Name-But-I-Swear-I-Still-Love-Him – in case you didn’t notice, I love him. He’s just… so wonderful. And pure. And his name reminds me of Kaz Brekker, whom I also love. And I just need more of him in my life, him and his maybe slightly naive thoughts of living happily ever after with Em and he’s just such a romantic and a dreamer and I love that about him. Now, enough of my embarrassing rambles and professions of love to fictional characters. Let’s move on, shall we?

The Writings

My NaNoWriMo project is complete! I submitted it to a contest a couple weeks ago after lots of adding changing and cutting down words. I hope they like it (obviously).

In other project news, I’ve literally written like two words. I’ve just been really busy okay? And I think I’ve reached that stage of where is this even going? And when I start to question where my story is going, sometimes I just stop writing, which honestly is probably one of the worst things I could do. So I just need to keep forging onwards, and hopefully I’ll get my groove (and my excitement for the story) back. I think it’s kind of like getting out of the honeymoon phase, but with your project. Now you actually have to work to keep that relationship going. I hope that makes sense.

How was your summer break? Hope your (school) year isn’t too stressful or crazy. We can do it!

Let me know if you like those rambles I do for the haul, or if you’d rather just have me list the books as they are and go. They all have their respective Goodreads links so really me talking is just, well, me talking. Or typing. It certainly makes the post a lot longer and I’m not sure if that’s a good thing or not.

See ya later! And bear with me if I’m not back right away. I still need to get that scheduling thing done. So obviously I’m organized and ready for school.

Leave a Reply

