The Great Re-Read Adventure of 2017

Hello, it’s me again! Welcome to August! Yes, I’m back and I haven’t quite worked out a schedule for myself yet, something I’ll hopefully get to soon enough.

Between all the new releases that seem to come out in bulk, not to mention all the books already out in the world the moment you’re born, if you’re like me, you get so overwhelmed by everything new and bright and shiny that you sometimes forget to pick up an old favourite, just for the heck of it.

Last year, I re-read two books. TWO (ie. not enough). That’s why this year, I created the ultimate re-read challenge list, which I hope to complete once the year ends. So far, I’ve read two. Again. One of which isn’t even on this list! But hey, at this point, I at least can’t do any worse than last year.

Below is the list of books I plan to re-read this year, mostly old favourites that I haven’t read in forever, though some are ones I borrowed from the library, then bought but have yet to read that particular edition. Some I bought a different edition of, and don’t want the copy to go to waste.

So without further ado, let’s begin the Great Re-Read Book March!

  1. Take a Bow by Elizabeth Eulberg aka the first book I fell in love with, but haven’t re-read since the millionth time around
  2. Prom & Prejudice by Elizabeth Eulberg, of which my copy has been a loan of a friend for the last 4 years (I have 5 more to go)
  3. Just One Day by Gayle Forman, because I’m been feeling wonderlust-y for maybe the past six, seven months, and I’m due for a re-read anyways
  4. Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins, because I borrowed it from the library the first time around, but then bought off Amazon for her to sign at an event last year. It is also the best of the three, in my opinion
  5. Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson, my only re-read thus far
  6. New Moon by Stephanie Meyer. I’m currently working my way through the Twilight Saga for the first time, though I actually read New Moon in the seventh grade, after reading like half of Twilight before giving up (though in my defense, I was in like the third grade). But I do love the movies (don’t come knocking down my door with your pitchforks and torches please, not yet anyways) and I really enjoyed Twilight the second time around… no shame.
  7. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins, because wanderlust and St. Clair and PARIS
  8. Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins, because wanderlust and Josh and everything is wonderful
  9. My True Love Gave to Me edited by Stephanie Perkins, because I’ve been wanting to feel all those cozy winter vibes and I think MTLGtM is the way to go. Also, I bought it off of Book Outlet early this year but I haven’t read it yet (I first borrowed it from the library a couple years ago).
  10. I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson, because I read the paperback edition that my friend bought me for my birthday, absolutely adored it, then proceeded to buy hardcover edition from Book Outlet since the cover is gorgeous
  11. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell, because this is most probably my favourite novel. I mean it’s the only book I’ve read that after I finished, I started right over again. And it’s been a while since I read it (BUT I NEED IT), despite having also read this a gazillion times.
  12. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, because I’ve only read it once and it’s been so long and I AM DEPRIVED
  13. The Hobbit by JRR Tolkien, because I read it in the seventh grade in school, but didn’t completely understand. But then I bought a copy of my own two summers ago and it’s just been sitting on my shelf and the fandom seems to grand that I can’t help but want to be included. What is Shire? (kidding, I swear)

Wish me luck; I’m gonna need it…

That’s all for this post. See you later!

Leave a Reply

