So Long, Farewell, July Wrap-Up Time

First off, anyone else singing the Sound of Music now?

Second, hey! Welcome to my first bookish post!

And… I’m late. Of course. So we’re off to a great start.

Ah, summer. For a young’un like me, that means no school. Which of course, by extension, means lots of reading time! Or at least it should, in my opinion. ‘Tis the season to relax, kick back, and enjoy several delicious novels. So, without further ado, let’s get on with the monthly wrap-up!

I read a total of 10 books this month, partly due to the fact that for the first two weeks of July, I did absolutely nothing, partly thanks to Booktube-a-thon (which I’ll get more into later), and partly because most of the books I read were pretty quick reads.

Presenting… The Book March of July!

134496932575632831145133173167702461158225209521927565822840421215515456261127

  1.  The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater // ⭐⭐⭐ // 70%
  2. Love & Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch // ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ // 90%
  3. I Believe in a Thing Called Love by Maureen Goo // ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ // 93%
  4. Invaded by Melissa Landers // ⭐⭐⭐⭐ // 85%
  5. The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick // ⭐⭐⭐⭐ // 80%
  6. Oblivion by Jennifer L. Armentrout // ⭐⭐⭐⭐ // 85%
  7. Legend by Marie Lu // ⭐⭐⭐⭐ // 85%
  8. My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton & Jodie Meadows // ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ // 90%
  9. Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson // ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ // 95%
  10. Life, Starring Me! by Robin Wasserman // ⭐⭐⭐ // 70%

Book Boyfriends of the Month

WARNING: I’m never sure how much of a spoiler book boyfriends are, so just beware until you see the next headline.

So… I thought this might be a fun segment to celebrate some of our favourite boyfriends that we read about each month because they are such dreams and I think the world needs more outlets to talk about them. And these are just in reading order because I find it near impossible to rate anything from greatest to least and vice versa (unless we’re talking converting fractions to decimals and listing them in ascending or descending order in which case I am the bomb, but beyond that, my indecisiveness strikes again). Let’s get the discussion going!

  1. I Believe in a Thing Called Love – Luca Drakos – He’s a new one, so he’s still got that shiny, perfect packaging, not that I’m complaining. But I love his laugh, honks and all.
  2. Invaded – Aelyx (don’t remember his last name but I swear I still love him) – I love how he loves Cara when before he did not. Moral Question: Do you guys ship characters with each other or with yourself? Because I love characters, but then I love them with each other too because they’re so good.
  3. Oblivion – Daemon Black – The first (and second) time I read Obsidian, Oblivion was already out and I needed it because there were times when Daemon was terrible and I needed his redemption. Of course, when I actually read the next books (binged is more like it), he was more than redeemed and I love him because he has the sweetest heart ever known to alien kind (I’m looking at you Onyx… andOpalandOriginandOpposition) so I didn’t really need Oblivion anymore but I still needed it so here we are, me rambling, you probably getting tired of me rambling so I’ll stop.
  4. My Lady Jane – Gifford Dudley (G) – He’s so pure and such a sweetheart and every time he talks my heart melts a little (because, um, 16th century speak). It’s fine though, obviously.
  5. Since You’ve Been Gone – Frank Porter – Though he may make me feel slightly incompetent at times (only slightly), his wonderful personality (and good looks) more than make up for it, not to mention his music taste.

Booktube-a-thon 2017

This year was my first attempt at the Booktube-a-thon, though honestly I wasn’t the most involved participant seeing as I have neither a booktube nor a bookstagram… However, I did read… books. Kind of completely failed seeing as I read 3 instead of 7 but I… tried…

Anyways, challenges I completed:

  1. A book with a person on the cover — My Lady Jane
  2. A hyped book — Since You’ve Been Gone
  3. Finish a book in one day — Life, Starring Me!

So I didn’t completely crush it, but I enjoyed the books I read, and they were books I might not have picked up had Booktube-a-thon not rolled around (except SYBG, because I’ve been wanting to re-read it all year because it’s the perfect summer book and absolutely wonderful highly recommend and I actually think I enjoyed it more the second time around)

Camp NaNoWriMo

I won! I apologize profusely if that sounds incredibly arrogant, but let it be known that my goal was a mere 1500 words, which really isn’t that much (like 48 words a day). But I’m still incredibly proud that I won because I never have before, usually due to the extremely high and almost unattainable goals that I set for myself. My original goal, for example, was 10 000 words… until I realized that that was just not happening for me this month, despite, as I mentioned before, spending two weeks doing virtually nothing.

I won’t say too much about my project, only that it’s still not done; I have a lot of editing to do and words to cut down (since I surpassed 1500 but I’m only supposed to have 1500 words) but I like where it’s going. I’ll tell you this much: it’s a short story about childhood friendship.

Any other NaNoWreemers (is that how you spell it? NaNoWrimers?) out there? How did your month go? Let me know!

That’s all for this post. I’ll be back soon to post, um, stuff! You know, about books! (can you tell I’m being super organized about this yet?) Thanks for reading! Sorry if it was a complete mess; I’m still trying to get the hang of this blogging thing.

Leave a Reply

